AFSCME Local 2887
AFSCME Local 2887

Council 31 Makes Endorsements for November Election

Hundreds of Local Presidents and PEOPLE Chairs came together to decide endorsements for the November election at the Legislative and Political Conference on Saturday, September 13.

After a resolution made at the January Legislative and Political Conference, AFSCME has been actively working to defeat gubernatorial candidate Bruce Rauner.  No official endorsement had been made in the gubernatorial election prior to Saturday's conference, however the majority of assembled delegates chose to adopt a resolution to endorse current Governor Pat Quinn in order to prevent Bruce Rauner from winning the election.  The full text of the resolution can be found under the "Legislative Updates" tab as well as on our Facebook page.

Other endorsements made at the convention include Dick Durbin for Senate, Ann Callis for House Representative of the 13th District, Michael Frerichs for Treasurer, Judy Barr Topinka for Comptroller, and Jesse White for Secretary of State.  A full list of endorsements is available under the "Legislative Updates" tab.

Nominations and Elections at General Meeting

AFSCME Local 2887 will continue to accept nominations from Members for Officers at our General Meeting on September 16, 2014 at 5pm.  The meeting will be held at the School of Pharmacy, U2 Room 1102.

You must be a Member to vote. Fair Share employees may sign a membership card prior to the meeting and be eligible to vote.

To be eligible for office, a Member must be in good standing for one year immediately preceding the election. No retired Member can be a candidate for office, and no Member can be a candidate for more than one office.

The following offices are up for election:
President, two-year term
Vice-President, two-year term
Secretary, two-year term
Treasurer, two-year term
Executive Board Member (three positions), two-year term
Trustee, one-year term
Trustee, two-year term
Trustee, three-year term

All elected officers will take office on November 2, 2014. Nominations can be made to the Election Committee Chair Diane Schilling prior to and at the September 16, 2014 meeting.